Old 04-23-2008, 11:54 AM
Banned
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF w/392CI stroker
Not Ranked     

I'm with WoodZ on a lot of this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverback51 View Post
I understand what you are saying, but being an engineer myself, I do believe it's not the best design I have ever seen.
I could say that to pretty much everything the Big 3 produces. Heck, even a Mercedes has its shortcomings. Just fewer than most.

Quote:
I will however probably buy a set of the new brackets and keep them on hand if needed.
Whether it's brackets or just replacing the existing bolts with ones that have longer shoulders, I'm not clear why anyone would purchase what is essentially an upgrade and not install it? Especially if you plan to stress the car and not just do gentle cruises.

Quote:
This will however go on my list of things to check on a monthly basis, or after a spirited ride.
"After" could be too late? At the least, it's less than $10 worth of hardware and about one hour of labor. These cars (Cobras in general) shake, rattle, hiccup, spit and grind far more than any production car. They require constant vigilance and oversight. If you're not regularly checking fasteners and stress points for these "race cars with license plates", then it might not be the best hobby for that particular person (not you Silverback directly, I'm referring to anyone that owns/drives a Cobra replica).

Quote:
I would like to point out also that based on the number of members that have looked at their cars, and found a problem, that the failure rate is quite high considering the limited number of cars out there.